Upcoming events in & around Kingston

Rashid Laher and Dianne MahboubiInter-faith Forums / Faithfull Friends events, kindly circulated by Rashid Ali Laher (above left – Kingston IF Forum, Richmond IF Forum and South London Inter Faith Group).  Download full details here.

Saturday 11 October 2pm  Britain has a proud tradition of providing sanctuary to those fleeing persecution, and civil society has been at the forefront in welcoming and supporting refugees. Meet at All Saints Church Kingston. Walk with Sukkah, a ceremonial tent to mark the Jewish festival of Sukkot ~ highlighting the need to resettle refugees in communities not camps ~ details http://www.unhcr.org/542abbc16.html.

Monday 13 October ~ 1000-1600hrs ~ MILAAP Multi-Cultural Centre, Kingston.  Dr Chris Hewer (www.chrishewer.org) Study Day: “What is it to be a Woman? Focus on Islam”. Contact Diana Mills 020 8948 3276 dianamills@phonecoop.coop

Saturday 18 October ~ 1830 hrs Annual Gala Evening, Claremont Fan Court School, ESHER – an evening of “Foods & Performances” from diverse cultures. www.elmbridgemultifaith.org.uk Contact GeoffreyMorriss@emas-bc.co.uk 01932 868454.

Saturday 18 & Sunday 19 October ~ Hunger for Justice Weekend acting and praying for our climate. Invite your MP along and challenge them to act on climate change ~ Register your Church via website: www.christianaid.org.uk

Tuesday 4 November ~ “Faith Schools Should Not Be A Part of State Education” at 2000hrs ~ South Farnham School, Menin Way FARNHAM GU9 8DY ~ College Principal, 2 School Heads & CE British Humanist Society www.farnham.humanist.org.uk 01252 726684

Saturday 15 November ~ 1900 Hrs ~ “Concert in Aid of the Kingston Food Bank” at Saint Thomas Aquinas RC Church, Ham Street RICHMOND TW10 7HT ~ Tickets £5 per head ~ RashidAli Laher 020 8541 1330 rai.laher@blueyonder.co.uk

LAST THURSDAY most months (30 OCT, 27 NOV & 18 DEC) ~ Open Lunch Time Meetings South London Inter Faith Group at Streatham Friends Meeting House, Redlands Way, SW2 3LU.  Vegetarian Lunch 12.30pm followed at 1pm to 2pm ~ an opportunity to share Inter Faith news and experiences, and to discuss matters of concern to SLIFG.  Contact Reverend Alan Gadd ~ membership@southlondoninterfaith.org.uk.

Reflections from Sunday 14 September ~ Royal Borough of Kingston Upon Thames “Heritage Open Day” Inter Faith Walk ~ memorable day, worth remembering things to do and advance the need to sustain local volunteers, supporting the growing needs of the vulnerable living amongst us:
• Street Pastors in Kingston ~ www.kingston.streetpastors.org.uk
• Kingston Churches Action on Homelessness ~ www.kcah.org.uk
• Kingston Kaleidoscope Project ~ www.kaleidoscopeproject.org.uk
• Kingston Foodbank ~ Trussell Trust ~ www.kingston.foodbank.org.uk
• Kingston WelCare ~ Making Families Stronger ~ welcarekingston.org.uk
• Oxygen Kingston ~ Young Persons resources for Youth work ~ www.yfc.co.uk
• Joel Community Trust ~ New Centre for Homeless ~ www.joelcommunitytrust.org.uk
• Kingston Quakers:- Kingston’s first EcoFriendly Meeting Place www.kingstonquakers.org

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s